Echéa Quartet

Rosa Hartley (violin)
Aliayta Foon-Dancoes (violin)
David Shaw (viola)
Eliza Millett (cello)

Recipients of the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Albert and Eugenie Frost Chamber Music Prize, the Echéa Quartet was formed in 2017 at the Royal Academy of Music. They are recent winners of the ‘Tremplin' at the Philharmonie de Paris's String Quartet Biennale and prizewinners of the International Anton Rubinstein Competition. The Quartet are currently Chamber Music Fellows at the Royal College of Music, artists for the Concordia and City Music Foundations (2019/20) and Yeomen of the Worshipful Company of Musicians. The Quartet is mentored by John Myerscough, Simon Rowland Jones and Mathieu Herzog and is fortunate to play on a quartet of W.E. Hill & Sons instruments and bows. The Quartet has appeared at Ferrandou Musique, has attended a residency at the Banff Centre (2019), has performed at the Musikverein, Wigmore Hall and Philharmonie de Paris and has been featured on BBC Radio 3's 'In Tune', and CBC National Radio (Canada) as part of a six-week tour of the west coast of North America (2019). The Quartet has participated in masterclasses at IMS Prussia Cove and Festival d'Aix-en-Provence (2020) and will be Fellows for the Advanced String Quartet Program at Aspen Summer Music Festival, 2021.

The Quartet has commissioned works by Louise Drewett, Freya Waley-Cohen and Robert Laidlow, has worked closely with Harrison Birtwistle and Andrew Norman, and will be working with Mark-Anthony Turnage.