Barbican Quartet

Amarins Wierdsma (violin)
Tim Crawford (violin)
Christoph Slenczka (viola)
Yoanna Prodanova (cello)

The London based Barbican Quartet is an exciting young ensemble quickly establishing themselves internationally. Acclaimed for their "gusto, comradeship and sharp attack" (The Times) and "blazing and unusually forthright performance" (The Telegraph), the quartet was formed at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama.

First prize winners of the 2019 Joseph Joachim International Chamber Music Competition as well as the 2018 St Martin-in-the-Fields Chamber Music Competition, the Barbican Quartet are Young Artists in the St John's Smith Square scheme 2020. They made their Wigmore Hall debut in 2017 thanks to the Maisie Lewis Award, and were 2016 Park Lane Group artists. In 2018 the Royal Philharmonic Society awarded them the Albert and Eugenie Frost Prize and in January 2020 they were awarded third prize as well as the audience prize at the Heidelberg international String Quartet Competition.

The Barbican Quartet has appeared in such festivals as the Montreal International String Quartet Academy, IMS Prussia Cove, Harmos Festival, Portugal and has also undertaken a residency in Aldeburgh in 2017. Their performances have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3 as a part of the Barbican Total Immersion and BBC Proms.

The Barbican Quartet currently studies with Gunter Pichler at the Reina Sofia String Quartet Academy in Madrid, and regularly work with members of the Belcea quartet thanks to the Belcea Quartet Charitable Trust. Among their mentors are Alasdair Tait, Andras Keller, David Waterman, Ferenc Rados and Rita Wagner.

They are very grateful to the Hattori Trust for their support, and to the Dutch Instrument Foundation for the use of Amarins' Guadagnini violin and the Canimex Group (Canada) for the loan of Yoanna's Gagliano cello.